T20 World Cup – NZ Vs SL: Glenn Phillips 104 Helps New Zealand To An Impressive Victory


NZ Vs SL Highlights:

Glenn Phillips crushed a force to be reckoned with 104 and Trent Boult got four wickets as New Zealand cleared past Sri Lanka by 65 runs in Sydney on Saturday to place them in shaft position to make the semi-finals at the Twenty20 World Cup.

New Zealand batted first and posted 167-7 with Phillips relentless, saving his group after the top request was blown away, losing Finn Allen, Doug Conway, and Kane Williamson for 15 runs.

Boult and Tim Southee then diminished Sri Lanka to 4-8 in the pursuit and it was basically impossible that back as they disintegrated to 102 full scales. Boult finished with a profession best 4-13.

Phillips hit 10 fours and four sixes in his 64-ball thump — the second hundred years of the competition, after South African Rilee Rossouw’s 109 against Bangladesh, and just the eleventh in T20 World Cup history.

“Mind-blowing, any hundred is astounding yet the manner in which he tried sincerely and put a squeeze on the resistance after our unfortunate beginning,” captain Williamson said. “The young men executed the plans all around well.”

Phillips said it was “totally indefinable” to score 100 years at the World Cup.

“I attempt to engage however much as could be expected, and today it turned out great,” he added.

Bounty was on the line with Gathering One completely open after both matches in Melbourne on Friday — Australia v Britain and Afghanistan v Ireland — were cleaned out.

New Zealand’s win gives them a two-point cushion, and an unrivaled run rate, at the highest point of the table from Britain, Ireland, and Australia with two games to play.

They face a crunch game against Britain next in Brisbane on Tuesday while Sri Lanka faces a must-win conflict with Afghanistan around the same time to keep their expectations alive.

“Credit to Glenn Phillips who played an exceptional thump. We likewise dropped a couple of gets. 160 is generally an extreme ask with their bowling assault,” said Sri Lanka skipper Dasun Shanaka.

“Assuming that we get several wins, we’re still in with a possibility of qualifying, so anticipating that.”

After losing the throw, Sri Lanka started with the twist of Mahesh Theekshana, and it quickly delivered profits.

Allen dismantled Australia’s consecrated speed assault in their initial game during a 16-ball 42, yet he oversaw only three balls and one run this time, jumbled by an inswinger in the opening over.

Conway, who crushed an unbeaten 92 against Australia, fared somewhat better.


Spinner Dhananjaya de Silva joined the assault and Conway was bowled for one.

Things deteriorated when captain Williamson (8) got an external edge off pace bowler Kasun Rajitha in the following over and was gotten behind.

Phillips and Daryl Mitchell, getting back to the side after cracking his hand, crept to 54-3 at the midpoint.

However, Phillips then flicked a switch, with sloppy handling helping him, dropped by Pathum Nissanka on 12 and again on 45 by Shanaka.

An 84-run stand with Mitchell finished when his accomplice was bowled for 22 by Wanindu Hasaranga. Mitchell Santner was close by him when he raised just his second T20 100 in the nineteenth over prior to being trapped in the last finish.

Sri Lanka made the absolute worst beginning to the pursuit, losing three wickets for five runs.

Southee bowled a wicket-lady to open procedures, catching Nissanka lbw, and afterward long-lasting bowling accomplice Boult contributed with two wickets in his first finish.

He captivated an edge from Kusal Mendis to Conway then de Silva slashed onto his wicket. Charith Asalanka didn’t endure significantly longer, got by a plunging Allen as Boult snatched his third.

Spinner Santner came on and Chamika Karunaratne swung his bat, just to track down Boult in the profound, leaving Sri Lanka in confusion.

Shanaka hit a gutsy 35 and Bhanuka Rajapaksa 34, yet without much of any result.

NZ Vs SL Playing XI

New Zealand

Kane Williamson(C), Finn Allen, Devon Conway, MS Chapman, James Neesham, Mitchell Santner, Glenn Phillips, Trent Boult, LH Ferguson, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee

Sri Lanka

Pathum Nissanka, C Asalanka, B Rajapaksa, D Shanaka(C), D de Silva, W Hasaranga, C Karunaratne, K Mendis, M Theekshana, L Kumara, K Rajitha


Source link

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *